Whoa buddy…peace be unto you

Bismillah walHamdulillah

I once called a phone repair office, and the conversation began as usual: as-salam3laykum, and the man answered with “wa’salaam.”

But then the conversation took an interesting turn. I tried to explain to him the issue with my phone and I just wanted to ask if I could fix it myself. But he started screaming about how he couldn’t help me because they get hundreds of phones every day, and how I need to bring my phone in. He started screaming in a very loud voice and became very rude. Alhamdulillah, I don’t think any profanity was used. I remained calm, and tried to achieve my purpose of calling. I gave him the name of the person who was supposedly the one who fixed my phone, and the first man screamed to the second man “Talk to her!” and then he handed him the phone, and I could still hear him screaming in the distance.

SubhanAllah… and the conversation began with “Peace be unto you.”

Just something to think about: when you say Salaam to another Muslim, you are saying more than a generic phrase. This phrase holds such beauty that the Rasool sallallahu 3layhi wasallam said:

“You will not enter Paradise until you believe, and you will not believe until you love one another. Shall I not tell you about something which, if you do it, you will love one another? Spread salaam amongst yourselves”(Sahih Muslim)

You are telling the Muslim, “I am your brother/sister in Islam, I am a Muslim like you, I love you for the sake of Allah, and I will not harm you with my speech or actions.” These are all of the things that come along with your Salam…so try to remember that the next time you say salaam and then proceed to hurt someone’s feelings, or proceed to engage in some sort of sin with them (because in that case you are harming them and yourselves).

So what does it say about the person who says salam to someone and then puts hasad on them, or backbites them, or curses them, or hits them?

Food for thought…

wasalamualaykum

  1. Leave a comment

Speak your mind:

